University Library

Welcome to Kwara State University Library


You are welcome to our Library. Our University Library supports and supplements the teaching-learning program of the institution at all levels. It performs these functions by providing materials in various formats from both traditional and modern technological sources..


To support the University's teaching, research and community development activities through the provision of high quality resources and services.


To become one of the leading resource in the world for teaching, learning and research.

Core Value

As a service Department, the Library values among others: • Honesty • Professionalism • Team Work • Being Friendly and courteous to users

Opening Hours

Semester Period Main Library E-Library Monday – Friday 8am – 8p.m 8am – 4p.m Saturday 10am – 6p.m Closed Semester Break and Long Vacation Monday – Friday 8am – 4p.m 8am – 4p.m Saturday Closed Closed Public Holiday Closed Closed .

About Us


The Kwara State University Library was founded in 2009. From its inception in 2009 to the last quarter of 2012, the Main Library was housed in one of the Large Rooms (LR) in the College of Pure & Applied Science Building. The e-Library came on board in 2012. In 2012, the Main Library moved to two of the new buildings along the College of Agric & Veterinary building. Currently, the Kwara State Library System consists of the Main Library at Malete and a Reading Room each at the Centre for Ecological & Environmental Research Management Studies (CEERMS) and the Centre for Pre-Degree and Remedial Studies. In 2018 the Law Library became operational. On July 6, 2019, the new library complex named after President Mohammed Buhari was commissioned and was put into full operations in January, 2020. The library has the Main Library at Malete and will have a branch each at the two other campuses of the University in Osi and Ilesha-Baruba. The goal of the Library is to support the University’s function in the areas of teaching, research and community development through the provision of high-quality resources and services.

About us

Organization Structure

To achieve its stated objectives, the library is presently organized into five divisions. These are the University Librarian’s Office; the Collection Development Division; the Technical Services Division; the Users’ Services Division; and the Electronic & Audio-Visual Resources Division.

Librarian’s Office

The University Librarian’s Office is responsible for the more important management functions such as planning, organising, staffing, budget preparation and defence, controlling & supervision, measurement and evaluation of activities, operational procedures and services, and reporting, among others.

Collection Development Division

The Collection Development Division comprising the Bibliographic Checking Unit, the Ordering, Receiving and Invoice Processing Unit and the Gift and Exchange Unit. The Division handles all the activities relating to library acquisitions.

Technical Services Division

The Technical Services Division which consists of the Cataloguing and Classification Unit, the Book Labelling and Mending Unit and the Bindery Unit. The Division is responsible for the processing of library materials.

User Services Division

The User Services Division which is comprised of the Reference Services Unit, the Circulation and Reserve Collection Unit, the Serials & Government Publication Unit and the Special Collections Unit. The Division takes charge of the public services of the Library.

Electronic Library Division

The Electronic Library Division is responsible for the development, organisation and handling of the Library’s electronic & audio-visual resources services, digitization and library networks. It consists of the Electronic /Audio-Visual Resources unit, Institutional Repository unit and ICT unit.



The services currently offered by the library include book borrowing, reference and bibliographic services, photocopying, binding and lamination, interlibrary lending, course book reserve services, Internet/database searches, referrals and off-site library services at FSP and GSS in Ilorin, among others. Further details about the services can be found in the Guide to the Kwara State University Library. The collections in the Main Library are organised into four sections based on the Library of Congress Classification Scheme.

Humanities, Management and Social Science Section

The Humanities, Management and Social Science Section which contains books in the Arts, Business and Social science.

Engineering and Technology Section

The Science, Engineering and Technology Section which contains books in Science, Agriculture, Engineering and Technology.

Education and Library Science Section

The Education and Library Science Section which contains books in Education and Library & Information Science

Reference/Serials and Special Collection Section

The Reference/Serials and Special Collection Section which houses various academic journals, newspapers, magazines and Irele, Chinese and Afro-Brazilian Collections.


Membership of the Library is open to the following: • All students of the University • All Academic Staff of the University • All Senior Administrative and Technical Staff of the University recommended by their Heads of Department. • Other persons approved by the University Librarian on behalf of the Vice-Chancellor. Every member is expected to register with the Library. Registration forms are available at the Loan’s Desk in the Main Library and in the E-Library. .


Library Staff includes the Porters, Library Assistants, Library Officers, Librarians (Asst. Librarian – Deputy University Librarian), Systems Analyst and Secretary - all headed by the University Librarian. Each division in the library has a divisional head.

Florence Olabisi Ajani

Library Coordinator/Principal Librarian

Rafiu Olabamiji Ayodele

Principal Librarian

Yahaya Aliyu Ismaila

Librarian I

Mumini Mohammed

Assistant Librarian

Abdul Hadi Ayodeji

Assistant Librarian

Biliqess Naallah

Assistant Librarian


Ag. University Librarian

Email: Tel: 08032287734

Ag.Head e-Library 08168850150

Ag.Head Circulation Unit 08076776948